CSS, Cascading Style Sheets, was first proposed in 1994.  The first CSS Standard, produced by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) in 1996.  There have been three major versions of CSS; CSS Level 1, CSS Level 2, and CSS Level 3.  Each version builds on the works of the previous levels. HTML defines the content and its structure.  CSS defines how that structure is to be presented.

CSS Resources

  • CSS Property Reference
  • CSS Tutorial
    Brought to you by w3schools.
  • Gecho
    Gecko is the name of the layout engine developed by the Mozilla Project. It was originally named NGLayout. Gecko's function is to read web content, such as HTML, CSS, XUL, JavaScript, and render it on the user's screen or print it. In XUL-based applications Gecko is used to render the application's user interface as well.
  • HTML Help by the Web Design Group
    Chock full of references, tools and help.
  • The WebKit Open Source Project
    WebKit is an open source web browser engine. WebKit is also the name of the OS X system framework version of the engine that's used by Safari, Dashboard, Mail, and many other OS X applications. WebKit's HTML and JavaScript code began as a branch of the KHTML and KJS libraries from KDE.
  • W3C Cascadeing Style Sheets, level 1
    Cascading Style Sheets, level 1.  Recommended 17-December-1966, Revised 11-April-2008
  • W3C Cascading Style Sheets
    W3C Cascading Style Sheets Home Page.  Links from this page to CSS Level 3 stable draft documents.
  • W3C Cascading Style Sheets, Level 2
    Cascading Style Sheets, level 2.  CSS2 Specification.  Recommendation 12-May-1998
  • W3C Style Sheets
    Web Style Sheets Home Page.
  • Web Browser Standards Support
    This document will summarize the level of support for web standards and maturing technologies in popular web browsers. It covers the Internet Explorer, Firefox, and Opera web browsers, with focus on the HTML, CSS, DOM, and ECMAScript technologies.
  • Web Site Work Station
    Turorials for HTML, CSS and Website Design.

Comments are closed.